Family Portrait

glopo2016button1.png

If you came into our home

Where my daughter stretches her wings

Like a young hawk;

Where my son holds 3 kingdoms

And a dragon in his head;

Where my husband offers stories

And music, and a glass half-full;

And I have flour or dirt under my nails,

And my hair all everywhere:

 

If you came into our home,

Or came upon us in a cafe

Or by the sea, I think

You would know us.

 

Families build themselves

Out of whatever’s to hand –

The time we caught the fish –

The holiday it rained –

That film we watched, that night –

 

So I think you would know

That we’re a family, I think you

Would see the threads

We disregard so casually.

 

2 thoughts on “Family Portrait

Leave a Reply

