NaPoWriMo 16 – questionnaire

What do the children dream of?

Their dreams weave and writhe their way
Along city streets, where neon lights
Hum midnight music

They twist and thread themselves
Through beach parties, where
The sea is tropical
And the beat is animal

They spiral up up up
Towers of glass, pointing to the sky

Their dreams are too big for this
Small house
They burst out of windows
Break down doors, raise the roof

Spill down the streets of this
Small town
Tumbling and billowing
To where the larks sing.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 16 – questionnaire

    • Oh, thank you, Carol. That means a lot to me. It wasn’t at all the poem I thought I was going to write, but when I cut out all the stuff that didn’t work for me I found myself going in an altogether unexpected direction!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

