NaPWriMo 23 – A Sonnet

Now you are asking me to write a sonnet.

I’m sorry, but you’ve gone too far this time.

I’m not a lady poet in a bonnet

Using green ink to pen my breathless rhyme.

These days, you’ll find we write in blank verse

That doesn’t have a structure or a form,

I know you say that Shakespeare did the converse

But it’s 400 years ago that he was born.

I’d like to write a poem of sudden beauty –

The kind that makes you smile, or sob, or sigh.

Instead, I’ll do this with a sense of duty

And hope my rhyme and metre just scrape by.

I write this poem, NaPoWriMo, for you:

I’m doing it because you asked me to.

Leave a Reply

