Haibun for Dverse – quotidian moments.

This is not a ritual, though my body moves with the fluidity of repetition, and my hands know the weight of water they carry, and the angle of tilt, and the moment to stop. This is not a ritual, though I stay silent as I step out into the sounds and scents of the morning, cup cradled like a chalice between my hands. There is dew on the grass, and a bird sings close by, and I crush a leaf between my fingers to catch the fresh smell of it. This is not a ritual, though it is a pause, a slow intake of breath, a blossom caught in the moment between bud and flower. It is a round stone in the stream of the day.

Green leaf in the cup
Opening leaf in the sun
The clean scent of mint.

A haibun for D’verse, where Toni wanted a piece on our daily actions…

14 thoughts on “Haibun for Dverse – quotidian moments.

  1. Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful! “A round stone in the stream of a day” Wonderful words! 🙂 The repetition “this is not a ritual” adds to the soothing effect!

    Like

  2. I don’t think meditation has to be ritualized. There are many times (like the one you describe) that let us pause and become mindful of moments within our senses where we are fully present. Your words are as fresh as that mint. :~)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. One of the nice things about this prompt was that it suggested making that pause for a moment of mindfulness. Whenever I do it, I wonder why I don’t do it more often, and then I’m off again…!

      Like

Leave a Reply

