Maud Gonne – for Dverse

Oh, William, William, please don’t lay your dreams before me,

They are too delicate and too finely wrought.

I’m not some ancient goddess on a cloud –

I’m just a woman, made of meat and bone,

And secret smells, and sudden gusts of laughter.

 

I want a man who’ll tie his dreams to mine

And send them flying from the highest rooftop

Like a battle cry;  a man who’ll come to me

With blood stained hands and soot streaked face;

A man who’ll leap with me

Into the turbulent torrent we call life,

And stay beside me, half swimming

And half battling the river and each other

‘Til we fall panting on the other side.

 

So, William, William, please don’t lay your dreams before me

I will trample them. Destroy them.

I cannot help it.

 

It’s my nature.

 

 

 

William Butler Yeats wrote some of the most beautiful poems in the English language. I love his work, absolutely adore it. But I think as a person he was probably quite difficult, and I’ve always felt a bit sorry for Maud Gonne,  his unrequited love. I suspect it was a bit of a pain for her at times.

I’m on a roll with these poems in spouse’s voices for Kim over at D’verse.

8 thoughts on “Maud Gonne – for Dverse

  1. I love this Sarah! I suspect great writers and artists are actually difficult and challenging to live with. I specially admire the character sketch in this part:

    A man who’ll leap with me

    Into the turbulent torrent we call life,

    And stay beside me, half swimming

    And half battling the river and each other

    ‘Til we fall panting on the other side.

    Like

  2. I love Yeats’ poetry but I agree, he was probably quite difficult to live with but exciting and, yes sexy, at the same time. I was married to an Irishman for a few years and can understand how she might have felt . I too feel sorry for for Maude and love those lines:
    ‘I want a man who’ll tie his dreams to mine
    And send them flying from the highest rooftop’
    And there is such passion in these lines:
    ‘:A man who’ll leap with me
    Into the turbulent torrent we call life,
    And stay beside me, half swimming
    And half battling the river and each other
    ‘Til we fall panting on the other side’.
    Fabulous response, Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so splendid… what a story it must have been.. especially love these three lines:

    I’m not some ancient goddess on a cloud –
    I’m just a woman, made of meat and bone,
    And secret smells, and sudden gusts of laughter.

    You are on a roll today Sarah…

    Like

Leave a Reply

