Constellation – a 50 poem for Jane Dougherty

Forgetting foolish rows and crazy fights
And all our fractured days and shattered nights,
We hold our breath and watch this secret sight –
Fireflies copying stars in dancing flight,
And stars that mimic fireflies, sparkling bright –
Hoping we can re-light each other’s light.

Just last week I pointed out that Wednesdays wouldn’t be Wednesdays without a prompt from Jane Dougherty – and now she’s decided to take a little break from doing the prompts. It’s a shame, but she has been so helpful and supportive to her group of poets over the last few weeks, and I can’t begrudge her a break and some time to work on her own writing. 

This is a slightly whackier image than the ones we usually use. It gets a bit wilder every time I look at it, and I don’t think I’ve really done justice to the craziness, but there you go. Jane has asked for a poem of 5 lines, each with 10 syllables – do you see what she did there?File:Constellations1.jpg

5 thoughts on “Constellation – a 50 poem for Jane Dougherty

  1. I agree about the wackiness of the image. I can’t make up my mind if she’s grinning or grimacing, and why she’s lying on the grass in the middle of the night…
    I love your poem, especially the fireflies. I wrote a second fifty poem using exactly the same set of words as your end of line words. Completely different result so I think I’ll post it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Poetry challenge Fifty: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

