This extra(ordinary) day – haibun for dVerse

The sunrise is a tidal wave of colour crashing into the pale morning air. At this time of year the sun rises in exactly the right place for me to see it from the bedroom window – a forest fire on the horizon, a glorious energy. It’s the first thing I see today, as if the sun has waited for me to wake, like a child waiting to tell a secret or share a story. What story does the sun have for me today? A tale of apples – always, inevitably, apples – and golden quinces, warm in my hand. A story of sunshine. The tale of a boy who smiles through his distress and thanks me, when all I can give him is my attention. Of a woman who shares her fear and trusts me to hold it for a moment or two before she leaves to go back into her world. A story of laughter, of singing off key on the journey home. Of a piece of toast, a cup of tea, a basket of washing. A love story, I think.

Dancing fire wakes me
And the clear liquid falling
Music of songbirds

Grace has given us a prompt for a dVerse haibun – looking for the extraordinary in our day. I had to mention the apples that are piling up around me! It was good to reflect on my day. I am so lucky.

29 thoughts on “This extra(ordinary) day – haibun for dVerse

  1. Apples and quinces! We have them too! I love the way your prose shifts from a panoramic view of morning to zoom in on relationships and then toast, tea and a basket of washing. And then the music of the songbirds falls!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh such a whirlwind of emotion here ❤️ I especially love “as if the sun has waited for me to wake, like a child waiting to tell a secret or share a story.”❤️ Beautifully rendered.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. What a tale you spun here. I like the way you described the rising sun.
    “The sunrise is a tidal wave of colour crashing into the pale morning air”
    “a forest fire on the horizon, a glorious energy.”
    “It’s the first thing I see today, as if the sun has waited for me to wake, like a child waiting to tell a secret or share a story.:
    Well done. 🙂

    Like

    • I once had an 8-year-old girl “hand” me her worry. Literally. I was her camp counselor and she was tumbling her mind and heart over something that had happened, and she turned and looked up at me, and said, “Can I give it to you?” And, even not really knowing what she meant, of course I said YES and she handed me something invisible, but obviously very, very heavy. And then she smiled like the sun, and ran back off to the next activity, lighter than air.

      Sometimes I think of her and remind myself that others are here to hold us, to hold our fears and our worries alongside us. And that a loving God waits to hold it all for me, too.

      Like

  4. oh this is filled with such fine detail….so many moments of wondering what the new day shall bring…..I especially like the moment of fear you are entrusted with, even for just a moment…and then smiled at the singing off key on the journey home. Really enjoyed this one! 🙂

    Like

  5. SO much to love about this haibun…the image of the sun rising as you wake each day, the stories of the sunrise, the diversity and layers of those stories, an ending that speaks volumes. Oh and there’s that gorgeous haiku.

    Like

  6. I love this: “A story of sunshine. The tale of a boy who smiles through his distress and thanks me, when all I can give him is my attention.”

    Also this: “A story of laughter, of singing off key on the journey home.”

    Yep. The last line of the paragraph is consistently my favorite. No different here: “A love story, I think.” … Excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

