The best things in life are free – haibun for dVerse

We’re climbing in the dark, in the snow. There are lights strung along beside us, strings of lights dipping between poles and branches, showing us the way – and of course the snow reflects back the light, so that it seems to be shining all around us. The texture of the snow is like loose sand, and it’s slippery, and hard going. It’s uphill all the way. If we look up we can see the stars, and the shape of a great mountain, craggy, pointing towards the sky. There’s a moon, too, not quite full, tinged with gold. A couple of people have gone past, heading downhill, sliding down on toboggans. Here and then gone a moment later. Our voices hang in the air, in that peculiar silence you get in deep snow. I think it must muffle any echoes, any resonance, leaving only the clear true note of one person calling to another. It’s beautiful here. I want to be here, I love this moment. I have always wanted to be here, to do this, and never known it.

Stars glisten on snow
Moonlight shimmers on mountain
Silence enfolds us

 

Toni at dVerse has given us this lovely prompt. I’m just back from Germany, and a taste of winter – sliding on frozen canals, sledging in the Alps. Back home it’s muddy, and damp, but the daffodils are out and there are snowdrops in all the hedges. 

 

21 thoughts on “The best things in life are free – haibun for dVerse

  1. I love this. Snowdrops – only in Europe do you find snowdrops. I know they grow here but I can never find any this far South. I love your haiku as well. It is perfection and the way it caps off your haibun: “I want to be here, I love this moment. I have always wanted to be here, to do this, and never known it.” Simply gorgeous and true.

    Like

  2. I’m not a fan of snow – trauma in early childhood spoiled it for me – but your description has made me long for a snowy landscape and a toboggan, Sarah! I looked at the stars tonight as I waited for my life to choir, and there were so many of them, I can imagine them reflecting int eh silence of snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds like a perfect winter holiday. My old knees can’t do skiing nowadays, but I’ve sure spent my fair share of hols in Austria going up and down slopes. And I agree that the snowy-silence is very special. It makes the slush and shovelling and salted grit worth the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

