Spring I – quadrille for dVerse

She knew it was spring
because the shirts danced
on the line, and the sun
shone warm across
her shoulders.

The rooks were calling
from tree to tree

and there were primroses
moonlight pale
along the bank

and for a moment,
she forgot herself.

 

It’s quadrille night at dVerse. Kim is spring cleaning, springing into action, and giving us ‘spring’ as our quadrille word tonight. Check out the bar, order something zingy, write a poem, read some poems, enjoy yourself. 

20 thoughts on “Spring I – quadrille for dVerse

  1. Oh this is wonderful, Sarah!
    ‘She knew it was spring
    because the shirts danced
    on the line, and the sun
    shone warm across
    her shoulders’.
    That’s how I like to forget myself 😉

    Like

  2. I read all the comments and there was no indication in your poem that it was a sad a situation. I took it as forgetting oneself in the wonders of Spring.

    Like

  3. Lovely. I can imagine these scene in my head, like a painting. I don’t think it’s happy or sad, but I agree with Jane that there is a story here. The woman is enjoying a moment enough to forget whatever is on her mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

