Yum yum -haibun!

Sunday slipped through my fingers, lost in a whirl of rugby and rowing, mud and river water, friends talking, kids being delivered here and there, growing washing piles – all the detritus of family life.

On Monday, then, in the gaps between school runs and riding and skittles, I cooked our Sunday roast, served it up in pans and roasting dishes, and we sat and ate together. Suddenly, my husband spoke: “I think this is the best roast dinner you’ve ever cooked” and my daughter chimed in “It’s the best roast dinner I’ve ever eaten.” My son agreed with them, nodding with his mouth full and helping himself to another roast potato. I laughed. And then I smiled, in sheer pleasure.

I don’t know if it was the best roast dinner ever. I suspect there have been better ones…I do know that this is what makes a family – sharing the rituals, and the times when we do something a little unexpected. Sharing a meal together, enjoying the food and the company. Taking the extra potato.

Winter mud, spring rain
Outside our golden circle,
Inside is our home.

 

Toni at dVerse is asking for a haibun on the best meal we ever had. This is a bit of a cheat, but I’m trying to use this year’s haibuns as a journal, keeping it in the here and now. Like I say, I don’t know if it was the best meal ever, but we enjoyed it. I suspect this week’s haibuns will be about company more than menus…get over to dVerse and see if I’m right. 

26 thoughts on “Yum yum -haibun!

  1. Oh! Indeed. It is the company that makes the meal and being hungry from activities. I imagine it was the best roast meal they had ever eaten. I wish I had some now. the haiku is lovely…inside is our home….that is what makes the meal.

    Like

  2. sharing a meal together is the simple joy, often times my kids surprise me with the praise of a simple meal – you have captured the loved you share as a family and the bonds that you have created with such love and care.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way you described Sunday slipping through your fingers, Sarah. Sounds busy. Maybe the out-of-the-ordinary Sunday roast on a Monday is a kind of magic spice! Oh, roast spuds…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I ADORE this! “Take an extra potato” indeed 🙂 And the haiku is a perfect dessert! At our table, since our now 40-something year old children were little, we’ve sung a table grace called “The circle of love.” It’s a raucous, happy song, sung holding hands at the table. “The circle of love goes around and round. The circle of love goes around. Reach out your hands, someone loves you. The circle of love goes around. Amen!” And we raise our arms (still holding hands) on ‘reach out your hands.” Now, with just the two of us, we don’t do that anymore. But we always sing when we have a meal with our kids and their children. Our grandson, at about the age of 4, added to the grace by starting a hand squeeze that goes around the table, then reverses back to him! 🙂 Family meals….no matter the food….equal love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The specialness of the Sunday Roast easily transferred to Monday, a lovely reminder of the joys and closeness of family and friends enjoying a meal round the table. (So often families don’t do the table thing anymore – if only they knew what they were losing…)
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

