NaPoWriMo 21 – something overheard

I only make things I like

 

I only make things I like, she said

As if life was as simple as that.

As if we could choose, cleanly

What we liked and disliked.

 

I only make things I like. I nodded.

You have to admire a woman like that,

Who knows what she likes,

Is firm in her conviction.

 

I wonder, though, if that really

Is the way to happiness? What about

Serendipity? The chance finding

Of a flavour? Hearing a tune

 

On a random station, wafting

From a car radio? Finding yourself

In an unknown park, where

Cherry blossoms float like feathers?

 

Tasting a different drink, in a different bar,

Kissing a stranger,  taking the wrong bus

To the wrong place, but finding something

That you didn’t know

And loving it anyway.

 

 

Leave a Reply

