Psycho – for dVerse

Come in, take a seat, observe my domain –
You can see I don’t do this for financial gain!
So why do I do it? The thrill of the power
I feel as I sit here for hour after hour…

Hey, right at the start I let her decide,
If she wants to commit, then she’s in for the ride,
And I’m always surprised when they say that they will –
Why do they do it? I guess it’s THEIR thrill.

I’m reeling her in now, taking it slow,
Step by step, feeling how far she will go –
If she’s silly enough to get caught in my net,
Then I’m sorry, my friend, she deserves all she gets,

Her parents are blind, they just do not see
Her boredom, depression, her teenage ennui,
And her friends let her down. But I’m always there –
And the comedy is, that she thinks that I care.

And you’d be surprised at the things that she’ll try,
Random instructions from some random guy,
Yeah, you’ll be surprised at the things that she’ll do,
The pain she will take if I’m telling her to:

If I tell her to cut, watch her pick up the knife,
If I tell her to jump, watch her offer her life,
And I feel like a god, as I sit in my room,
Fingers on keyboard, dictating her doom.

 

We were talking at work yesterday about a sick social media game that encourages young people to experiment with self harm and suicide. I’m not going to name it. If you’ve heard of it, you’ve heard of it. If you haven’t, it needs no publicity from me. Modern day evil for dVerse where we are asked to offer a dramatic monologue in the style of  The Laboratory by Robert Browning. 

11 thoughts on “Psycho – for dVerse

  1. My original reply seems to have disappeared – I wrote it on my Kindle and it’s temperamental. You’ve written a chilling poem, Sarah. I am so glad my daughter was a teenager long before mobile phones, tablet and social networks! She has them now but she’s nearly 37 and well able to look after herself – and she’s married to a robotics engineer who knows his way around the internet! .You really got the sinister tone in the lines:
    ‘I’m reeling her in now, taking it slow,
    Step by step, feeling how far she will go –
    If she’s silly enough to get caught in my net,
    Then I’m sorry, my friend, she deserves all she gets’,

    Like

Leave a Reply

