Cluttered desk – a pantoum for Jane Dougherty

Here among these rags and tatters,
Scraps of paper, scribbled lines,
I keep some things that really matter –
Images of older times

Scraps of paper, scribbled lines,
Crayoned letters, drawn with care,
Images of older times,
As if I could hold you there,

Crayoned letters, drawn with care,
A flower you drew, a finger print,
As if I could hold you there,
But years pass faster than a blink.

A flower you drew, a finger print,
So tiny, when I see it now,
But years past faster than a blink
And you are so much older now.

So tiny, when I see it now,
The past, compressed into a jewel,
And you are so much older now,
My treasure; shining, sunlit pool:

The past compressed into a jewel,
In all the chaos of my life,
My treasure – shining sunlit pool,
Warming my soul with quiet delight.

In all the chaos of my life,
I keep some things that really matter,
Warming my soul with quiet delight,
Here among these rags and tatters.

Jane gives us a picture of her writing space as a quirky prompt. As Jane is the Queen of Forms, I felt it was appropriate to attempt one. This is a pantoum, which I find strangely soothing.

3 thoughts on “Cluttered desk – a pantoum for Jane Dougherty

  1. Thank you both 🙂 It’s a lovely, wistful pantoum, Sarah, and I know what you mean about its soothing quality. It’s maybe the back and forth motion of it, like waves on a strand. Such a good analogy for time passing and memories resurfacing.
    ‘I keep some things that really matter
    Images of older times.’
    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

