Egg – quadrille for dVerse

My child sleeps
nested like an egg
smooth skinned
speckled
full of the future

my child curls
in the unheeded
sprawl of sheet
crumpled
head covered
full of dreams

my child is warmed
by this home
of soft feathers
uncracked
unbroken
full of hope.

Easter is coming, and the birds are nesting in the hedge, and there is a general feeling of spring in the air, despite the cold wet weather we have been having. Kim asks us to write a dVerse quadrille – 44 words, including the prompt word – egg.

 

24 thoughts on “Egg – quadrille for dVerse

  1. A stunning Quadrille, Sarah! I especially love the lines:
    ‘smooth skinned
    speckled
    full of the future’
    and
    ‘my child curls
    in the unheeded
    sprawl of sheet’.

    Like

  2. Oh I LOVE the imagery you’ve created here! 🙂 So very well done. Smiling I am thinking of my children many many years ago, when I’d peek in at night to see them. Tussled heads on pillows, blankets every which way…stuffy near by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment