Fridge

Somehow the fridge is always full

of leftovers, as if we meant

to eat another meal – because we meant

to eat another meal, and yet

we’re not that organised,

mealtimes kaleidoscope,

and all  my good intentions

are left in little bowls

with little lids, or out

on side plates, wrapped in

tinfoil. I can never work them out,

work them right through.

I wait for time to waste them,

then discard them

 

The very wonderful Lillian is hosting at dVerse, asking us to seek inspiration from our fridge. As you can see, I seek inspiration there on a regular basis, and don’t always find it.

7 thoughts on “Fridge

  1. Chuckling I am….needing my hot coffee while chillin’ out. Oh yes….leftovers. Before my husband retired, I did almost all the cooking and my refrigerator was full of tupperware and tinfoil! Hah! Years and years ago I was a “Tupperware Lady” so I had every size, every color, everything you could think of….and they were all great for holding the leftovers….trouble was, they also hid them! In those days you couldn’t see through the colors. Mealtime kaleidoscope indeed! (Love that phrase) My husband, having a mathematical and scientific bent, absolutely has a passion for cooking so he took over the kitchen upon his retirement…and yes, it is a galley kitchen so not really big enough for two. He creates a spreadsheet each Sunday with the meal plan — I kid you not! AND, the spreadsheet includes days that actually say “leftovers.” I marvel at his cooking and his planning skills.
    As I’ve always said, “We all have different gifts.” 🙂 I miss the little “surprises” I’d find unwrapping a tinfoiled plate….sometimes pleasant, sometimes aromatic! LOL
    Glad you participated! It’s been fun to peek into the chilled out lives of dVerse folks 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment